Pharmacology

Pharmacology Sources for Nursing Students at all levels of practice

Introduction

Pharmacology is an important part of nursing practice as it deals with the safe administration of medications. This guide offers sources that will help further your understanding of pharmacology from a basic level to advanced practice.

Medication Databases

Micromedex

One of the best sources for drug information is the Micromedex database.

To use Micromedex, follow the steps below.

1. Enter the database through the link above.

2. Select either the Drug, Disease, or Toxicology tabs on the search box, depending on what type of information you are looking for, and enter your keywords. Select the magnifying glass or hit enter to see the results.

 

Access Medicine: Drugs

The Access Medicine database has a drug search and browse feature that can help you with your drug information needs.

To find drug information, follow the steps below.

1. Click on the link above to get into the drug list.

2. Use the left-hand navigation menu to select what area you would like to search in; either All Drugs, Generics, Trade Names, Drug Classes, or Patient Handouts.

3. Use either the search box to search for something specific or use the alphabetical letters to browse the drug list.

Access Pharmacy

Access Pharmacy is a database where you can look for information about drugs and other pharmacology topics. It includes books, a drug database, and study tools.

To use Access Pharmacy, follow the steps below.

1. Enter the database through the link above. 

2. Once you log in, you can scroll through the books or use the menu options at the top of the page to get to study materials and the drug database. To use some of the study materials, you will need to create an account and log in using the sign in option in the top right of the page.  

AccessPharmacy homepage with sign in, books and top menu options indicated.

DynaMed

The DynaMed database is another place to find drug information. It has an A-Z drug list, information on drug interactions, and calculators that might be of assistance.

To access these tools, follow the steps below.

1. Enter the database through the link above.

2. Select either Drugs A-Z, Drug Interactions, or Calculators in the top navigation menu.

Natural Medicines

Natural Medicines is the best resource for finding information on complementary, alternative and integrative medicine treatments as well as their interactions with prescription medications.

To use this database, follow the steps below.

1. Enter the database through the link above.

2. You can either use the search box to search for your topic of interest.

3. Or you can use the left-hand navigation menu to use things like interaction and effectiveness checkers or use the options at the top of the page to select specific databases or tools in which to search.