Chamberlain University Library: Home

Navigate and Search the Library

Popular Points of Interest

Evidence-Based Practice, PICO(T), and Clinical Questions

Searching with PICO Elements

TRIP Overview

Use the PICO search in the Trip database to find evidence for your clinical question. 

PICO Search

To do a search using your PICO elements in the Trip database, follow the steps below:

1. Enter the database through the link above.

2. Go to PICO.

3. Enter your PICO elements in Population, Intervention, Comparison, and Outcome.

Note: You do not need to use all four search boxes in this search.

4. Hit search, and review the search results.

Searching with Clinical Queries

Clinical Queries Overview

Use Clinical Queries to find articles that report research. Remember, research is evidence. Click on the following tabs to see which databases provide Clinical Queries tools.

PubMed Clinical Queries Tool

To use the clinical queries tool in PubMed, follow the steps below:

1. Enter the database through the link above.

2. Select Clinical Queries under Find.

PubMed Database - Clinical Queries Tool

3. Enter your terms. Omit using AND, OR or NOT.

4. Select the research type.

Results are sorted into three columns: Clinical Studies Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics.

  • Clinic Studies Categories: Therapy, Diagnosis, Etiology, Prognosis and Clinical Prediction Guides.
  • Clinical Studies Categories can be Broad or Narrow and will be Quantitative and Qualitative Research. To find only Qualitative Research, use the Publication Types limiter on the next page after clicking on the See All link. There is not limiter for Quantitative Research.
  • Systematic Reviews and Meta-analysis will be in the middle column, and if there is a genetic component to the question, these articles will be listed in the Medical Genetics column.

PubMed Clinical Queries Results page - three columns of sorted results

5. Select See All at the bottom of the column to review all of the results.

Medline Complete Clinical Queries Tool

To use the clinical queries tool in Medline, follow the steps below:

1. Enter the database through the link above. Once you click on the link, it will open the advanced search page.

2. Under Limit Your Results, select an option from the Clinical Queries menu. See the types below.

Types of Clinical Queries available in Medline Complete Database

  • Therapy
  • Diagnosis
  • Prognosis
  • Reviews - Use this type for Systematic Reviews or Meta-analysis.
  • Clinical Prediction Guides
  • Qualitative - Use this type to limit to Qualitative Research studies only. There is no limiter for Quantitative Research. Use Therapy, Diagnosis, Prognosis, or Causation depending on the type of clinical question.
  • Causation (Etiology)
  • Costs - This type includes cost effectiveness or health care costs.
  • Economics - This type also includes cost benefit analysis as well as cost effectiveness or health care costs.

3. Enter your keywords, and hit search.

CINAHL Complete Clinical Queries Tool

To use the clinical queries tool in CINAHL, follow the steps below:

1. Enter the database through the link above. Once you click on the link, it will open the advanced search page.

2. Under Limit Your Results, select an option from the Clinical Queries menu. See the types below.

Types of Clinical Queries in CINAHL Complete

  • Therapy
  • Prognosis
  • Review - Use this type for Systematic Reviews or Meta-analysis.
  • Qualitative -  Use this type for Qualitative Research only. There is no limiter for Quantitative Research. Use Therapy or Prognosis or Causation for Quantitative Research, depending on the type of clinical question.
  • Causation (Etiology)

3. Enter your keywords, and hit search.

Footer Links

Policies and Feedback



Copyright Information