Chamberlain University Library: Home

Navigate and Search the Library

Popular Points of Interest

Finding, Understanding and Conducting Research Studies

Definition

"A  clinical trial in which the subjects are randomly distributed into groups which are either subjected to the experimental procedure (as use of a drug) or which serve as controls —called also randomized clinical trial" (Merriam-Webster, 2016).

Finding Randomized Controlled Trials

As with all other studies, one strategy to finding randomized controlled trials is to add the study type to your search string. See example below:

antihypertensives AND blood pressure AND randomized controlled trials

In addition, there are a few other things you can do while searching individual databases as shown below.

CINAHL and Medline Complete: Publication Type Limiter

Randomized Controlled Trial

CINAHL Complete and Medline Complete are databases that allow you to limit your search results to randomized controlled trials only.

To find randomized controlled trials in CINAHL or Medline, follow the steps below:

  1. Enter the databases through the links above. This will take you directly to the advanced search page for both of these databases.
  2. Scroll down to the Limit Your Results section. This is where you can add limits to your search to tell the database that you only want articles that fit specific criteria. 
  3. Locate the Publication Type menu, and select Randomized Controlled Trial.

undefined

PubMed

To find randomized controlled trials in PubMed, follow the steps below:

  1. Enter the database through the link above.
  2. Search your topic by entering your keywords into the search box and hitting search. 
  3. Locate the Article Type limiter to the left hand side of the search results, and select Randomized Controlled Trial.

Screenshot of Randomized Control Trial Limiter-PubMed

Note! With any of these searches, you will need to limit to full text to get articles immediately available to you.

References

Merriam Webster. (2016). Randomized controlled trial. In Merriam-Webster (Ed.), Merriam Webster's Medical Dictionary. Merriam-Webster. https://chamberlainuniversity.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/mwmedicaldesk/randomized_controlled_trial/0?institutionId=8802

Footer Links

Policies and Feedback



Copyright Information